Session: #542

Theme & Session Format

3. The new normality of heritage management and museums in post-Covid times
Session format:
Round table (without formal abstracts, only list of confirmed discussants / session co-organisers to be provided)

Title & Content

Europe’s Medieval Pasts: A Manifesto
This roundtable session offers an opportunity to reflect on and critically evaluate the MERC Manifesto. These discussions will explore how we may deliver the aspirations it embodies. The Manifesto of the Medieval Europe Research Community seeks to awaken appreciation of the rich cultural resources embodied in our understanding of the medieval past. There is an urgent need to understand the foundations of contemporary Europe in order to help shape its future. Our vision promotes opportunities provided by archaeology to explore and to engage with the past, and to care for it and enjoy our shared European heritage. Perspectives grounded in the material remains of the past allow us to embrace cultural diversity over national exceptionalism. Experiencing archaeology enables and encourages us to be in dialogue with the past and through this immediacy, its local stories of global resonance. This Manifesto addresses our political responsibility as European archaeologists as set out in the 2019 EAA Bern Statement: Archaeology and the Future of Democracy ( Our manifesto asserts that engagement with medieval archaeology is a matter of European importance.
The Manifesto is intended to build consciousness and inspire action. If you are interested in using it, you are warmly welcome to participate in these discussions. It can be downloaded at:
Social Engagement, Future, post-medieval
Session associated with MERC:
Session associated with CIfA:
Session associated with SAfA:
Session associated with CAA:
Session associated with DGUF:
Session associated with other:


Main organiser:
Stephen Driscoll (United Kingdom) 1
Carlo Citter (Italy) 2
Barbora WOUTERS (Belgium) 3
Liisa Seppänen (Finland) 4
1. University of Glasgow
2. University of Sienna
3. Vrije Universiteit Brussel
4. University of Turku